One of the things you need to know about drunk driving in Florida is that Sound legal counsel can help shield you from much of the worry, stress and aggravation of your case, and keep you from spending countless hours in court and missing work. A good DUI defense attorney will attend the vast majority of court appearances in your case, including the administrative license hearing to stop the suspension of your driver's license.
A DUI is a criminal conviction.
In certain occupations the effect of a DUI conviction is immediate. Often a person will lose his job. And you must consider that a DUI conviction is public record. Further, it will probably appear on the internet in some way or fashion.
Once your conviction becomes public record, you should expect it to affect your professional reputation and bottom line. An experienced attorney can minimize the impact a DUI may have on your occupational license and your career.
Your driver's license can actually be suspended at two different points in time and the laws vary somewhat from state to state. The first suspension usually comes when you are arrested for a DUI. If it is a first time arrest for DUI, the DMV usually suspends your license for six months starting immediately. You get a ten day grace period, which allows you to continue driving to take care of some business. But after ten days, your license is suspended for six months.
If you are arrested for drunk driving in Florida, your license will be suspended.
Your license will be suspended in 10 days unless your attorney drafts and files an appeal letter to the FLHSMV. THE APPEAL MUST BE FILED WITHIN 10 DAYS OF A DUI ARREST. If you don’t win your FLHSMV appeal, and your breath test was .08 or above, you’ll have to wait 30 days, and show proof of enrollment in DUI school before you can get a “hardship” license. If you "Refused", you’ll have to wait 90 days and show proof of enrollment in DUI school before you can get a “hardship” license.
A Hardship License is very restricted.
A “hardship license” is a license that is issued while your regular driver’s license is suspended. It restricts your ability to drive for specific, limited purposes such as to work or medical appointments. State laws vary regarding types of "hardship licenses", so it is best to contact an experienced DUI attorney who can explain your rights and provide the sound legal counsel needed to guide you through the DUI process.
Your Car Insurance will go up for a DUI in Florida.
In most cases, A Driving Under the Influence, or DUI conviction dramatically increases car insurance rates. The rate of increase can be a real "eye opener," up to 200% – or more.
If you have been convicted of a DUI in Florida you must get special DUI insurance for the next three years you have a license. This special DUI insurance requires you get as much as double your previous coverage. Because not all carriers provide this type of specialized car insurance, there is a good chance your insurance company will drop you as a client.
Don’t face a drunk driving charge alone.
If you have any further questions, feel free to call me or download my e-book “The Most Important Things To Know About A DUI.”