The legal drinking age in the United States is 21. Consumption of alcohol by anyone who is under the age of 21 is illegal. No exceptions are made to this law, or "zero tolerance." As underage drinking has been found to be associated with many alcohol-related deaths, the penalties for driving under the influence under the age of 21 are very severe.
BAC Level for Underage Drivers
In the state of Florida, if you fail a sobriety test, or you are found to have a BAC at .02 percent or higher, you will be charged with DUI. Being charged and then convicted of a DUI under the age of 21 will result in serious penalties.
Penalties for Underage DUI in Florida
The penalties for underage DUI in the state of Florida are as follows:
- First Offense: A person who is convicted of driving under the influence under the age of 21 for the first time will have his license suspended for six months. If the person's BAC is over .05 percent, he could lose his license for a longer period of time. If the BAC is found to be above .08 percent, the person could face jail time and a fine of $1,000 to $2,000.
- Second Offense: A person with a BAC of .02 percent or higher will lose his license for 12 months, and the person could face imprisonment of 10 days to 12 months, as well as a fine of $1,000 to $4,000.
Just because you have been charged with an underage DUI does not mean that you will be convicted. If you have been charged with an underage DUI in the Clearwater area, contact Hilliard Law, P.L. With experience defending underage DUI cases, Attorney Hilliard understands the laws that govern driving under the influence and can help to create a defense that with the goal of having the charges reduced or dismissed, or a full acquittal at trial. Contact him today.