See how our firm can fight to protect your rights after a DUI arrest.
Find out the importance of representation at your DMV hearing.
If you have been accused, let us help! Begin by emailing us here.

DUI Penalties in Florida

Trying to find an attorney for a DUI case in Clearwater?

When faced with strict DUI penalties in Florida, it is critical that you find a Clearwater DUI defense attorney who is prepared to protect your rights during this difficult time. Compared to any other misdemeanor, a DUI conviction costs more and the mandatory fines are higher. The costs include court fees, attending DUI school, and an increase in car insurance.

You also risk losing your job and face probation. Hiring an experienced DUI defense lawyer is an important decision in protecting your rights and your reputation. If you have a question about what you can expect in your particular DUI case, please call Clearwater DUI Defense Attorney Jackson Hilliard for a free consultation about which Florida DUI penalties you may face.

Maximum Florida DUI Penalties Defined

The following represents the maximum penalties for a DUI conviction in the state of Florida. They do not represent a typical disposition because not every conviction will result in the maximum fines and penalties.

For a first DUI offense in Florida, the maximum DUI penalties include:

  • Up to 6 months imprisonment
  • $2000 fine
  • 2 months of probation
  • 10 day vehicle impound
  • 50 hours of community service
  • DUI school

For a second DUI offense in Florida, the maximum DUI penalties include:

  • Up to 9 months imprisonment
  • 10 days mandatory jail if second offense is within 5 years of previous DUI
  • $1000 - $4000 fine
  • 12 months of probation
  • 5 year driver's license suspension
  • 30 days vehicle impound
  • Multiple offender DUI school
  • Ignition interlock device

For a third DUI offense in Florida, the maximum DUI penalties include:

  • Up to a year imprisonment
  • 30 days mandatory jail if the 3rd conviction is within 10 years of a previous DUI
  • $2000-$5,000 fine
  • 10 years of license suspension
  • 90 das vehicle impound
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Multiple offender DUI school

For a fourth DUI offense in Florida, DUI penalties include:

  • A minimum fine of $2,000
  • Permanent license suspension
  • Up to 5 years imprisonment

In addition to the above penalties, the court may also order community service, specified public service, restitution to the victim, court costs, ignition interlock device on all vehicles, and other assessments. Your insurance prices may also greatly increase, as you will be considered a high risk driver.

Defense for Your Clearwater DUI

Don't wait to take action against your DUI. The prosecution must prove that you had a blood alcohol content of .08% while you were driving to convict you of a DUI. That percentage is decreased for underage drivers, who must be below .02% and commercial drivers, who must be below .04%. Clearwater DUI attorney, Jackson Hilliard, at Hilliard Law, P.L. has a number of effective strategies for your defense. He may be able to disprove your chemical or field test that provided crucial evidence, or he may be able to show that the officer did not have a valid reason for pulling you over. No matter how difficult the case may seem, Attorney Hilliard can provide creative defense for you! Contact Hilliard Law, P.L. to setup a free consultation today.

Hilliard Law, P.L. - Clearwater Criminal Attorney
Located at 13575 58th Street North, Suite 140 Clearwater, FL 33760. View Map
Phone: (888) 886-5955 | Local Phone: (727) 489-2101.
Website:
Facebook GooglePlus Twitter YouTube
Stay up to date on firm newsand current events.
See informational videos in our viewing center.